About Shan Shui Conservation Center

Vision

生态公平。即寻找和建立人类与自然,现代与传统,民间与政府之间的新平衡。

Mission

基于科学与文化,实现生态价值,给守护自然家园的行动者以力量。

To Empower Nature Guardians

Humans are part of the biological chain of the earth’s ecosystem. No matter how technology develops, human well-being still depends on a healthy ecosystem. However, by the second half of the 20th century, human activities had significantly changed the face of the Earth. 60% of the ecosystem was in a state of continuous degradation, and 2/3 of natural resources had been depleted. In the next three decades, China is facing a severe test: continuous high-speed economic growth is still largely at the cost of irreversible environmental losses; losses caused by environmental pollution and ecological damage have largely offset GDP growth. Freshwater, air, soil, climate, and biodiversity are facing crises, and therefore we will be threatened by more natural disasters, energy and resource shortages, diseases, and the growing gap between rich and poor. Is it to continue rapid but unbalanced economic growth, or to rebuild the balance between development and protection? Society must make choices. There is no doubt that in the coming decades we will face the final battle for the defense of natural homes. Although the public and the government’s awareness of ecological protection is constantly increasing, letting the destruction “brake” depend on more local guardians and the extensive support and participation of society to form a joint force.


Who We Are

Shan Shui Conservation Center (hereinafter referred to as “Shan Shui”) is a Chinese nongovernmental organization dedicated to conservation practices rooted in Chinese society and culture. Since establishing our team in Beijing in February 2007, we have strived sticking to our root in science and culture when directing multiple facets of fieldwork in the remaining parts of western China – where change can happen. We create value by safeguarding nature. We benefit local villages through various means, including experimenting with new mechanisms to balance ecological, economical, and community interests. To seek social and public support, we promote local publicity, production, and participation in a way that links conservation with Chinese mainstream society. We also undertake effective conservation initiatives to show that we are worthy of greater inputs and long-term support from these social and public channels.
Our young, professional, and aspiring team consists of 36 full-time workers and 25 long-term consultants, fellow researchers, and volunteers.
Our strategies incorporate field practices, fellowship programs, and value chains. In the context of this report, “field practice” refers to consistent efforts to carry out research and practical work, to train nature guardians, and to pilot nature safeguarding mechanisms. “Fellowship programs”, on the one hand, help to convert field experiences into know-hows and the mechanisms for extension and, on the other hand, to promote the applicability of theories and findings in the course of action. Along these “value chains” are a variety of “eco-equity” products (e.g. : Bee-PANDA Honey, Nature School Tours, etc.) that are intended as a means to raise public awareness of ecological values and through their sales, to open up eco-value feedback channels which involve the public.


Work mode

Shan Shui Conservation Center was established in 2007. It is a civil nature protection organization in China. The team has more than 20 years of experience in scientific research and practice in nature protection. Shan Shui cooperates with communities, academic institutions, governments, enterprises, and media to take root in the Sanjiangyuan region and the Mountains of Southwest China (Qinghai, Yunnan, Sichuan, Gansu, and Shaanxi), China’s richest biodiversity, to assist local innovating community-based protection model to make ecological protection a daily public issue in the community services and integrate into local cultural values and economic life, and promote policy recognition and support for community protection. At the same time, Shan Shui insists on carrying out conservation-oriented multidisciplinary research, traditional knowledge discovery, and ecological monitoring in the field for a long time. Based on this, it evaluates the value and threats of ecosystems and their services. Governments, communities, and the conservation community are recommended effective and practical protection measures and effectiveness evaluation methods to provide a basis for policy and law formulation. Shan Shui also hopes to become a bridge between nature and the urban public, let the public know, recognize and give back the value of nature, and jointly support local communities to become strong natural home keepers and benefit from protection. The work of Shan Shui is divided into three modules: field practices, fellowship programs, and value chains.


Staff and Awards

Up till now we have 23 employees, among whom 13 have Master’s or doctoral degrees. We also work with 21 long-standing, non-resident consultants, and one of them specializes in organizational management, one in publicity, one in a general area, 11 in project leadership, and 3 are fellow researchers.
We have provided 30 staff training sessions, 26 of which are internal and 13 external, all completely inclusive to cultivate a creative and open mindset for learning. Topics included work skills, team communication skills and general knowledge about ecology and anthropology.
We are entitled to “tax exemption against non-profit organizations in Haidian District in 2018 to 2022.”
We have been awarded the title “Model NGO for Internal Control Process Building in Beijing.”

关于山水自然保护中心

山水的愿景

生态公平。即寻找和建立人类与自然,现代与传统,民间与政府之间的新平衡。

山水的使命

基于科学与文化,实现生态价值,给守护自然家园的行动者以力量。

给自然家园的守护者以力量

人类是地球生态系统中生物链的一分子。无论科技如何发展,人类福祉仍然有赖于健康的生态系统。然而,及至20世纪后半叶,人类活动已经显著地改变了地球的面貌,生态系统有60%正处于不断退化状态,自然资源的2/3已被损耗。未来三十年,中国更是面临着严峻的考验:连续的经济高速增长很大程度上仍以不可逆转的环境损失为代价;环境污染与生态破坏造成的损失已经极大抵消了GDP的增长 。淡水、空气、土壤、气候、生物多样性都面临危机,而我们也将因此承受更多的自然灾害、 能源及资源短缺、疾病、贫富差距日益增大的威胁。 是继续快速但失衡的经济增长,还是重新构建发展与保护之间的平衡? 社会必须做出选择。毫无疑问,未来几十年我们将迎来保卫自然家园最后的争夺战。虽然公众和政府对生态保护的认识不断提高,但让破坏“刹车”,必须依靠更多的在地守护者,以及社会的广泛支持和参与,形成合力。


关于山水自然保护中心

山水自然保护中心(简称“山水”),2007 年2 月成立于北京,是中国本土的民间自然保护机构,致力根植于中国社会与文化的自然保护实践。山水基于科学与文化,与各方合作伙伴一起,在中国西部尚存完好的区域开展实地工作,通过保护自然创造价值,为当地乡村社区带来福祉,示范生态、经济、社区平衡的新模式;通过来自实地的宣传、产品、参与,将自然保护与中国主流社会链接,获得社会及公众的支持,并以有效的保护行动,吸引社会及公众对于自然保护的更大投入与长期支持。

山水团队由充满理想的年轻人和经验丰富的专家们组成,包括全职员工36 人,长期顾问专家、研修生及志愿者25 人。

山水的策略包括:“实践站”、“研究院”与“价值链”。“实践站”一如既往地扎根在实地进行研究与实践,培养守护者、示范守护模式;“研究院”一方面将野外的实践提炼转化为知识和保护模式,便于政府和社会复制,另一方面用研究理论及成果指导行动;“价值链”试图向公众传播生态价值,创造社会可参与的“生态公平”产品(如熊猫蜂蜜,自然学堂旅行等),通过产品的销售,建立生态价值回馈通道。


山水的工作模式

山水自然保护中心成立于2007年,是中国本土的民间自然保护机构,团队拥有20年以上从事自然保护科学研究和实践的经验。山水与社区、学术机构、政府、企业、媒体各方合作,扎根于中国生物多样性最丰富的三江源和西南山地(青海、云南、四川、甘肃、陕西),协助当地创新实践基于社区的保护模式,使生态保护成为社区日常的公共事务,融入当地的文化价值与经济生活中,并推动政策对社区保护的认可与支持。同时,山水坚持长期在野外开展以保护为导向的多学科研究、传统知识发掘、以及生态监测,以此为依据评估生态系统及其服务的价值和面临的威胁,在研究和实践的基础上向政府、社区和保护界推荐有效务实的保护措施和成效评估方法,为政策和法律的制订提供依据。山水也希望成为自然与城市公众之间的桥梁,让公众知晓、认可并回馈自然的价值,共同支持当地社区成为有力量的自然家园守护者,并从保护中受益。山水的工作分为实践站、研究院和价值链三个模块。


机构运营

截至目前,山水共有员工23人,其中硕士、博士13人;外部长期顾问21人,其中机构管理1人,研修生7人,项目支持11人,传播支持1人,综合支持1人。

完成员工培训39次,其中内部培训26次、外部培训13次。培训涵盖工作技能提升、团队沟通技巧分享与生态及人类学知识普及,实现全员受益,由此打造创新学习型机构。

获得“2018至2022年海淀区非营利组织免税资格”。

获得“北京市社会组织内控建设示范单位”称号。